2016 Election: List of Candidates  


2016 Election of Officers

for the International Consortium

for Law and Religion Studies 

Elections for ICLARS officers were last held in connection with the conference of the organization held in Santiago, Chile.  All officers of the organization had terms of office that would expire under the Consortium’s Statute at the time of the second conference of the Consortium after the Santiago conference—i.e., at the time of the Oxford Conference being held September 8-11, 2016. 


A notice of election was sent to ICLARS members on June 20, 2016. The election process was governed by the rules established by the Steering Committee prior to the Santiago Conference, which were sent to all members as an attachment to the notice of election.  These rules stipulated that all applications to run for office “must be submitted within 21 days from the date of the official call for elections . . . by e-mail directed to the President of ICLARS . . . .”  By July 10, the deadline date, applications had been received by the current President from the following for the positions indicated:



Ana María Célis Brunet, Catholic University, Chile, South America



Peter Coertzen, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, Africa

Alessandro Ferrari, University of Insubria, Italy, Europe

Mark Hill, Cardiff University, United Kingdom, Europe

Tahir Mahmood, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, Amity University, India, Asia

Asher Maoz, Peres Academic Center School of Law, Israel, Asia

Javier Martínez-Torrón, Complutense University, Spain, Europe

Juan Navarro Floria, Catholic University, Argentina, South America

Brett Scharffs, Brigham Young University Law School, USA, North America


The foregoing persons have the geographic diversity required by the Consortium’s Statute. The election rules provided with respect to election of the president indicate that “[i]f there is only one candidate, the candidate is declared president without a vote.”  Similarly, they provide that “[i]n the event that there are eight or fewer candidates for the position of member of the Steering Committee, they shall be declared members of the Steering Committee without a vote, provided they are citizens of different countries.”


Under the election rules, the foregoing individuals will be declared holders of the indicated offices without a vote at the upcoming General Assembly Meeting on September 11, 2016.


Newsletter editor: Cristiana Cianitto.

To view this newsletter in your browser, click click here
You receive this newsletter because you subscribed it. If you would like to remove your subscription click here or write to



Recent Books

Islamic Law. Cases, Authorities and Worldview

Introducing undergraduate students to Islamic law, this accessible textbook does not presume legal or technical knowledge.

Recent Journals

Ecclesiastical Law - fourth edition

This book offers a fully revised and updated exposition of the law of the Church of England.